pharma

Life Sciences

Pharmaceutical Law

In pharmaceutical law, our expertise covers the clinical and technical development (including GCP and GMP) and the the subsequent approval of the medicinal product in the German and European marketing authorisation systems – centralised and decentralised procedure – right through to its marketing. We particular focus in our regulatory advice do the area of orphan drugs, legal issues related to the Paediatric regulation, and pharmacovigilance as well as product liability issues.

The range of our services includes pharmaceutical contract law, in particular clinical trials and observational studies, as well as distribution schemes such as co-marketing and co-promotion contracts.

In the field of regulatory exclusivity rights (regulatory data protection, orphan market exclusivity and the paediatric extension of exclusivity rights), our lawyers have decades of experience in Germany and Europe based on particularly extensive practical knowledge, which applies in particular to third-party opposition proceedings. This includes administrative and civil law proceedings in Germany and legal proceedings before the European Court of Justice as well as representation in patent infringement proceedings.

In addition to traditional product borderline questions, we also advise our clients comprehensively on the constantly changing possibilities of different product classifications – from composition, presentation to marketing and advertising. Here, the delineation of medicinal products to the product classes medical devices, biocides and foods (classic foods such as teas or cough drops as well as Bach flowers and dietary supplements) is one of our regular fields of activity.

Medicinal Products

In the field of medical devices, our consulting ranges from conformity and certification procedures to subsequent sales. The delineation of medical devices in particular to medicinal products has been the subject of our regulatory advice since the beginning of the independent rules for medical devices. We also advise on the challenges related to the new Medical Device Regulation (MDR).

Law on Advertising in the Field of Healthcare and Competition Law

The promotion of medicines and medical devices continues to be a significant part of market access activities. We advise our clients in their advertising campaigns and the compliance with the German Law on Advertising in the Field of Health Care, with the general competition law rules and we run related lawsuits (preliminary and main proceedings).

Food Supplements

The delimitation of food supplements in particular to medicinal products and medical devices belongs to our competence in the same way as legal advice to questions on advertisement related to the health claims regulation as well as the consultation and assistance with health claims applications.

Patent Law

We have extensive experience and expertise in the support of patent infringement proceedings in Germany and coordination across Europe. The support of our clients in the area of ​​ supplementary protection certificate (SPC) as well as a possible pediatric extension thereof is one of our core competences.

Close Modal
Close Modal

pharma

Pharma

Arzneimittelrecht

Im Arzneimittelrecht reicht die Beratung von der klinischen und technischen Entwicklung (einschließlich GCP und GMP) über die Zulassung des Arzneimittels im deutschen und europäischen Zulassungssystem – zentrales und dezentrales Verfahren – bis hin zu deren Vermarktung. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der regulatorischen Beratung sind Arzneimittel für seltene Leiden (sog. Orphan Drugs), Rechtsfragen in Zusammenhang mit der pädiatrischen Verordnung sowie Pharmakovigilanz- und Produkthaftungsfragen.

Das Beratungsspektrum umfasst ferner das pharmaspezifische Vertragsrecht, insbesondere betreffend klinische Prüfungen und Anwendungsbeobachtungen, als auch Vertriebsformen wie Co-Marketing und Co-Promotion-Verträge.

Im Bereich der regulatorischen Schutzrechte (Unterlagenschutz, Orphan Marktexklusivitätsrecht sowie die pädiatrische Verlängerung von Schutzrechten) verfügen unsere Anwälte mit jahrzehntelanger Erfahrung in Deutschland und Europa über besonders umfangreiche Praxiskenntnisse, was insbesondere für zulassungsrechtliche Drittwiderspruchsverfahren gilt. Dies schließt eventuelle verwaltungsgerichtliche und zivilrechtliche Verfahren in Deutschland sowie Gerichtsverfahren beim Europäischen Gerichtshof mit ein als auch die Vertretung in Patentverletzungsverfahren.

Wir beraten unsere Mandanten neben den klassischen Produktabgrenzungsfragen auch umfassend zu den sich stetig wandelnden Möglichkeiten unterschiedlicher Produktklassifizierungen – von der Zusammensetzung, Aufmachung bis hin zur Vermarktung und Bewerbung. Hierbei gehört die Abgrenzung der Arzneimittel zu den Produktklassen Medizinprodukte, Biozide und Lebensmittel (klassische Lebensmittel wie Tees oder Hustenbonbons sowie Bachblüten und Nahrungsergänzungsmittel oder bilanzierte Diäten) zu unseren regelmäßigen Tätigkeitsfeldern.

Medizinprodukterecht

Im Bereich der Medizinprodukte erstreckt sich die Beratung von Konformitäts- und Zertifizierungsverfahren bis hin zum anschließenden Vertrieb. Die Abgrenzung von Medizinprodukten insbesondere zu den Arzneimitteln ist seit Beginn der eigenständigen Regeln für Medizinprodukte Gegenstand unserer regulatorischen Beratung, ebenso wie die Herausforderungen der neuen Medizinprodukteverordnung (MDR).

Heilmittelwerbe- und Wettbewerbsrecht

Die Bewerbung von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten ist nach wie vor ein bedeutender Teil des Marktzugangs. Wir beraten unsere Mandanten bei ihren Werbekampagnen sowie deren Beurteilung nach HWG und UWG und führen wettbewerbsrechtliche Prozesse (Verfügungs- und Hauptsacheverfahren).

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Die Abgrenzung von Nahrungsergänzungsmittel insbesondere zu den Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten gehört ebenso zu unseren Leistungen wie die Rechtsberatung zu Fragen der Health Claims Verordnung in der Werbung als auch die Beratung und Begleitung beim Stellen von Health-Claims-Anträgen.

Patentrecht

Wir haben umfassende Erfahrung und Expertise in der Betreuung von patentrechtlichen Verletzungsverfahren in Deutschland und deren Koordinierung in Europa. Auch die Unterstützung unserer Mandanten im Bereich des ergänzenden Schutzzertifikats sowie der möglichen pädiatrischen Verlängerung gehört zu unseren Kernkompetenzen.

Close Modal
Close Modal