geistiges_eigentum2

Intellectual Property

Patents and Utility Models

Technical IP rights are our speciality. Preu Bohlig is present at all important German patent litigation venues and has been involved in countless landmark cases for decades. We cooperate closely with specialised patent attorneys or in-house patent departments. We have developed an exceptional technical expertise, in particular in the automotive, pharmaceutical, biotechnology, machine engineering, electrical engineering, software and solar energy sectors.

We coordinate cross-border litigation with partnering law firms worldwide.

Our services include the drafting and negotiation of R&D agreements, licensing agreements and the assessment of IP rights in the context of due diligences and corporate transactions.

Trademarks and other commercial designations

Trademarks, company names and work titles render our clients’ goods and services distinctive. We know exactly how commercial designations can be made more valuable. We develop strategies on the selection of commercial designations and advise on the build-up and implementation of their protection. We represent our clients at the German Patent and Trademark Office (DPMA), the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

We coordinate and advise in relation to the pursuit of trademark infringements. We represent our clients in product piracy cases and in border seizure measures. The enforcement of IP rights in preliminary injunction proceedings at court, in particular in trade fair cases, is our bread and butter.

In addition to extensive litigation experience, we have significant expertise in handling corporate transactions. This gives our clients an indispensable advantage in due diligence and provides them our clients with a crucial plus of legal certainty.

Design Protection

“Ugliness does not sell” (Raymond Loewy)

A product’s design is an important selling point and a crucial factor for market success. However, investing in design development often pays off only if effective legal protection can be achieved and enforced. For the most part, registered designs form the basis of effective design protection. We advise and represent clients in relation to the registration process and the enforcement of their design rights. We enforce our clients’ designs in preliminary injunction proceedings and in border seizure measures expeditiously. This way, we are able to prevent our clients’ competitors from entering the market.

Copyright

Authors of literary, scientific and artistic works as well as other creative persons enjoy legal protection. We ensure that legal protection will be afforded. In the digital age, photos, texts, videos or music require special protection since there is an increased danger of extensive copyright infringement. We help our clients in protecting their works and enforcing their rights in order to preserve their works’ economic value and the incentive to be creative.

Trade Secret Protection

For detail innovation with a long term application perspective, secrecy is often more valuable than patenting. This applies also if neither patents nor other IP rights are available, for example, in the area of non-technical trade secrets. We advise and represent companies and individuals in relation to the enforcement of trade secrets and the criminal prosecution of infringements. We are aware of the practical difficulties and benefit from our wealth of experience in cooperating with criminal prosecutors and working at the criminal justice department. In order to prevent infringements of trade secrets at the outset, we also advise on the implementation of protective measures and develop comprehensive concepts to achieve protection in line with the increased requirements of the Trade Secret Protection Act (GeschGehG).

Employee Inventions

Behind every invention is an inventor. In most of the cases, the inventor is an employee. Employee Invention Law is a complex matter. It is a hybrid of patent and employment law. In addition to the vital patent law experience, we have extensive employment law expertise. We aware of the practical difficulties of blanket remuneration schemes. We advise and represent employers and employees in relation to remuneration disputes and claiming ownership of inventions and patents. We represent clients before the employee invention arbitration board and the ordinary courts. Employee inventions are the engine of innovation. We ensure that it runs smoothly.

Please contact us

Close Modal
Close Modal

geistiges_eigentum2

Geistiges Eigentum

Patente und Gebrauchsmuster

Technische Schutzrechte sind unsere Spezialität. Preu Bohlig ist präsent an den wichtigen deutschen Patentstandorten und hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten bei einer Vielzahl von Präzedenzentscheidungen mitgewirkt. Wir arbeiten eng mit spezialisierten Patentanwälten oder Patentabteilungen zusammen. Auf diese Weise haben wir in unserer Kanzlei eine besondere technische Expertise aufgebaut, unter anderem in den Bereichen Automotive, Pharma, Biotechnologie, Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Software, Solarenergie.

Internationale Verfahren koordinieren wir mit Partnerkanzleien im Ausland.

Unsere Beratungstätigkeit umfasst auch die Gestaltung von F&E und Lizenzverträgen sowie die Bewertung von Schutzrechten im Rahmen von Due-Diligence-Prozessen und bei Unternehmenskäufen.

Marken und andere geschäftliche Kennzeichen

Marken, Unternehmenskennzeichen und Werktitel machen die Waren und Dienstleistungen unserer Mandanten unverwechselbar. Wir wissen, wie wertvolle Kennzeichen entwickelt werden. Wir beraten bei der strategischen Auswahl von Kennzeichen und dem Aufbau und der Umsetzung von Schutzstrategien. Wir vertreten beim Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt (DPMA), dem Europäischen Amt für Geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) und bei der World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

Wir koordinieren und leiten für unsere in- und ausländischen Mandanten in großem Umfang die Verfolgung von Kennzeichenverletzungen und vertreten unsere Mandanten in Fällen der Produktpiraterie und bei Grenzbeschlagnahmeverfahren. Die unmittelbare gerichtliche Durchsetzung der Ansprüche von Rechtsinhabern in Eilverfahren, insbesondere in Messefällen, gehört zu unseren laufenden Aufgaben.

Wir verfügen nicht nur über umfangreiche Prozesserfahrung, sondern haben auch an einer Vielzahl von Transaktionen mitgewirkt. Diese Kombination ist in Due-Diligence-Verfahren ein unverzichtbarer Vorteil und bringt für unsere Mandanten ein entscheidendes Plus an Rechtssicherheit.

Designschutz

„Hässlichkeit verkauft sich schlecht“ (Raymond Loewy) 

Die ästhetische Gestaltung eines Produktes ist ein wichtiger Absatzfaktor und entscheidend für den Markterfolg. Investitionen in die Designentwicklung lohnen oftmals jedoch nur, wenn für das Design wirksamer Rechtsschutz erlangt und wirksam durchgesetzt werden kann. Dabei bilden vor allem eingetragene Designs die Grundlage für einen effektiven Schutz einer Designleistung. An allen unseren Standorten beraten und vertreten wir Sie bei der Erlangung von Designschutz sowie bei der Durchsetzung Ihrer Designs. In Eil- und Grenzbeschlagnahmeverfahren setzen wir Ihre Rechte rasch durch und verhindern damit den Markteintritt von Wettbewerbern.

Urheberrecht

Urheber von Werken der Literatur, Wissenschaft und Kunst und andere Kreative genießen für ihre Werke Schutz. Wir sorgen dafür, dass das auch so bleibt. Im digitalen Zeitalter sind Fotos, Texte, Videos oder Musiktitel besonders schutzbedürftig, da die erhöhte Gefahr einer unrechtmäßigen und weitreichenden Vervielfältigung droht. Wir helfen Ihnen, Ihre Werke zu schützen und Ihre Rechte durchzusetzen, damit Ihnen der wirtschaftliche Wert Ihrer Schöpfung und der Anreiz für Kreativität erhalten bleiben.

Geschäftsgeheimnisschutz

Bei Detailinnovationen mit langfristiger Anwendungsperspektive ist Geheimhaltung oftmals wertvoller als Patentierung. Das gilt auch, wenn Patente oder andere Schutzrechte nicht zu erlangen sind, beispielsweise bei nicht-technischen Geschäftsinformationen. Wir beraten und vertreten Unternehmen und Einzelpersonen sowohl bei der Geltendmachung von Ansprüchen vor den Zivilgerichten als auch im Zusammenhang mit der strafrechtlichen Verfolgung von Geheimnisverletzungen. Wir kennen die praktischen Schwierigkeiten und profitieren besonders von unseren langjährigen Erfahrungen in der engen Zusammenarbeit mit den Strafverfolgungsbehörden und eigener Erfahrung aus der Strafjustiz. Um die Verletzung von Geschäftsgeheimnissen schon im Ausgangspunkt zu verhindern, beraten wir zudem auch im Vorfeld und erarbeiten umfassende Schutzkonzepte, die auch den gesteigerten Anforderungen nach dem Geschäftsgeheimnisgesetz (GeschGehG) genügen.

Arbeitnehmererfindungen

Hinter jeder Erfindung steht ein Erfinder. In den meisten Fällen ist das ein Arbeitnehmer. Das Recht der Arbeitnehmererfindungen ist eine komplexe Spezialmaterie zwischen Patentrecht und Arbeitsrecht. Wir bringen neben technischem Sachverstand und patentrechtlicher Erfahrung auch die hierfür nötigen arbeitsrechtlichen Kenntnisse ein. Wir kennen die praktischen Schwierigkeiten von Pauschalvergütungssystemen, beraten und vertreten Unternehmen und Arbeitnehmer in Vergütungsstreitigkeiten und bei der Herausgabe – der Vindikation – von Erfindungen und Patenten. Wir treten bei der Schiedsstelle für Arbeitnehmererfindungen auf, wie auch bei den ordentlichen Gerichten. Arbeitnehmererfindungen sind der Motor für Innovation. Wir sorgen dafür, dass er rund läuft.

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf

Close Modal
Close Modal